KS Yang Travel Award History

Professor Kuo-shu Yang is the founder of indigenous Chinese psychology. He has worked his entire career promoting the development of psychology indigenous to Asia, and set up this fund through generous contributions from individuals in Taiwan.

In recognition of the huge range of conditions facing social psychologists across different countries in Asia, Professor Yang established an endowment to enable young scholars in economically developing countries to attend the AASP conference.

Hence, the KS Yang Travel Award is administered by AASP to provide financial assistance for deserving young scholars from developing countries to attend the biennual conference.

KS Yang Travel Award Grant

AASP has designated the KS Yang travel award to provide financial assistance for deserving young scholars from developing countries to attend the AASP Conference.

In 2005, AASP provided ONE all expenses paid trip (travel, registration fees, and accommodation) to the most deserving applicant.

In addition, it may be possible that some lesser awards will be made.

How to apply for the KS Yang Travel Award

Applicants of less than 40 years of age from any developing nation are eligible.

In addition to the normal procedure of submitting an abstract for the conference, KS Yang award applicants should also supply.

  1. their Curriculum Vitae (CV) detailing their publications and teaching activities,
  2. a full copy of the paper they intend to present, and
  3. a letter of recommendation from a more senior colleague.

The length of this paper should be between 4,000-6,000 words.

Winning papers will be submitted for publication in ‘Contributions to Asian Social Psychology’ (AASP’s conference proceedings).

Email your application to Professor Emiko Kashima at E.kashima@latrobe.edu.au by April 30th, 2021.

There will be five winners in 2021. Because the Seoul Conference will be held on-line, there will be no travel awards for this year. Instead, winners will receive an exemption of their registration fees.

KS Yang Travel Award Winners


Jiayu Chen (Nagoya University)
Ugyal Lama Yolmo (Sikkim University)
Khatijatusshalihah Khatijatusshalihah (Syiah Kuala University)
Li Mushi (Peking University)
Xiang Yi Tee (Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman)
Michael Pan (University of the Philippines)
Ya-Nan Fu (GuangXi Normal University)
Xiaona Xie (Nanjing Normal University)
John Ian Wilzon Dizon (Angeles University Foundation)
Marsha Fadhilah (Brawijaya University)


Chee-Seng Tan


Darren Dumaop (De La Salle University, Philippines)


no winner


Eugene Tee (Help University, Malaysia)


Saurabh Maheshwari (Indian Institute of Technology, India)


Robert L. Tang (De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, Philippines)
May Ann Garo-Santiago (De La Salle University, Philippines)
Ron R. Resurreccion (De La Salle University, Philippines)
Nasir Yusoff (University of Malaya, Malaysia)

2005: AASP Wellington

Shamsul Haque, Islamic International University (Malaysia), “Gender variation in reminiscence phenomena: A cross-cultural investigation”.

2003: AASP Manila

Sovanny Chhim, Royal University of Phnom Penh, “Job Satisfaction and Empowerment in the Workplace among Cambodian Women.”

2001: AASP Melbourne

Augustus Anonuevo, University of the Philippines at Los Banos, “(In)Tolerance and political leanings of members and non-members of charismatic groups and political organizations in Lagun”

Augusto Legaspi, University of the Philippines, Diliman, “Attaining desired outcomes in Catholic parishes: The meanings of parish competence”